Skip to main content

Job Shadowing

Note: Contact Guest Service to verify information

Job shadowing is a firsthand look at the daily experiences of healthcare professionals. This program is available to persons 16 years of age and up. Job shadowing is for observation purposes only and cannot be used as community service hours. Individuals will only be allowed to job shadow for a maximum of 40 hours total at all West Tennessee Healthcare facilities. Job shadowing is offered dependent on the area requested. See the Department Contacts page for a complete list of areas that allow job shadowing.

To be a part of the Job Shadow program, please complete the following process one week prior to observation.

For individuals who wish to observe eight (8) hours or less, you must complete the following process:

  • Print and complete the West Tennessee Healthcare Job Shadow Application
  • Read the West Tennessee Healthcare Management Guidebook Policy #7577
  • Print and complete the Confidentiality Acknowledgement
  • Read The HIPAA (Health Information Portability and Accountability Act) Privacy Rule review sheet
  • Print and complete the HIPAA Privacy Rule Quiz

For those applying under the age of 18 (must be at least 16):

  • Print and have a parent/guardian complete the Parent/Guardian Consent Form in addition to the guidelines listed above

For those who wish to obtain 9-40 hours of observation complete the following process in addition to the guidelines listed above:

  • Submit proof of a one-step tuberculosis (TB) skin test within the past 12 months
  • Submit proof of the following immunizations: MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella), Hepatitis B, Varicella (Chicken Pox)
  • Note: a titer (blood drawn to show proof of antibodies present) may be drawn if record of immunizations is not available. We will accept a healthcare statement that a titer was drawn and the antibodies were present

These documents should be submitted at the same time as the application, HIPAA quiz, and confidentiality acknowledgement, one week prior to observation date. West Tennessee Healthcare is not responsible for administering the TB skin test.

Please submit all paperwork to the Guest Resources office at Jackson-Madison County General Hospital. Address, fax number, and office hours are listed below:

Jackson-Madison County General Hospital
Attn: Guest Resources
620 Skyline Drive
Jackson, TN 38301
Phone: 731-541-6153
Fax: 731-541-5168

Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00 – 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 – 4:30 p.m. For questions, please contact the Guest Resources office at 731-541-6153.

Once all paperwork has been verified, a Job Shadowing authorization form will be issued to the job shadower. This form should accompany the shadower on the day of observation and be filled out by the West Tennessee Healthcare staff who is responsible for the job shadower. This form must be returned to the Guest Resources office upon completion.

Job Shadow Application

For students under 18:
Student Job Shadow Application
Parent/Guardian Consent Form

Required for all students:
Management Guidebook Policy #7577
Confidentiality Acknowledgement
HIPAA Privacy Rule
HIPAA Privacy Rule Quiz

Once you have completed your online HIPAA training and have been issued the Job Shadowing authorization form, contact the area you are interested in observing to schedule an appointment. You will be given information regarding dress code, schedule, location, etc. You will be given a temporary sticker badge. This badge must be worn at all times during your observation. If you are unable to make your appointment, please be sure to call the area as soon as possible to cancel or reschedule if needed. Contact information is listed below:

Respiratory Care
Scott Laster
731-541-6745
scott.laster@wth.org

Radiology
Tommy Goff
731-541-6794
tommy.goff@wth.org

North Hospital, Jackson
Debra Kay Moss, RT
731-661-2115 ext. 2147

Dyersburg Hospital
Tyler Thompson
731-287-2450

Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy
Hippotherapy
Angie Dyer
731-664-3679
angie.dyer@wth.org

LIFT Therapy
Bryan Thorne
731-421-6950
bryan.thorne@wth.org

Sports Plus Alamo
Torry Patrick
731-696-3095
torry.patrick@wth.org

Sports Plus Aqua Therapies
Alissa Inman
731-668-4449
alissa.inman@wth.org

Sports Plus Brownsville
Torry Patrick
731-772-5213
torry.patrick@wth.org

Sports Plus Dyersburg
Kathryn Clegg
731-286-1115
kathryn.clegg@wth.org

Sports Plus Henderson
Tammy Johnson
731-989-0469
tammy.johnson@wth.org

Sports Plus Humboldt
Jeff Lansdale
731-824-5551
jeff.lansdale@wth.org

Sports Plus Lexington
Reign Britton
731-967-3224
reign.britton@wth.org

Sports Plus Medina
Lana Hoke
731-686-5119
lana.hoke@wth.org

Sports Plus Milan
Lana Hoke
731-686-2010
lana.hoke@wth.org

Sports Plus North
Jay Wentworth
731-664-7060
jay.wentworth@wth.org

Sports Plus South
Tammy Johnson
731-421-8116
tammy.johnson@wth.org

Sports Plus Trenton
Felicia Ingram
731-855-7984
felicia.ingram@wth.org

Therapy & Learning Center
Jim Nelson
731-664-3679
jim.nelson@wth.org

Work Plus Rehab Center
Varsha McMinn
731-984-7640
varsha.mcminn@wth.org

OT Acute/OT Rehab-JMCGH
731-541-6567

PT Acute/PT Rehab-JMCGH
Debra Eubank
731-541-6738
debra.eubank@wth.org

Cardiology
Cardiac Cath Lab

Tina Rhodes
731-541-4934
tina.rhodes@wth.org

Echo, EKG, Stress Lab
Elvis Stewart
731-541-5534
elvis.stewart@wth.org

Nursing
Nursing B-8
Candace Todd
731-541-6384
candace.todd@wth.org

Nursing B-9
Renee Anglin
731-541-0950
renee.anglin@wth.org

Sleep Disorders/EEG
731-541-6834

Pharmacy
Andy Pennington
731-541-6229
andy.pennington@wth.org

Emergency Medical Services
Joyce Noles
731-425-9503
joyce.noles@wth.org


NONDISCRIMINATION NOTICE STATEMENT
West Tennessee Healthcare (WTH) does not exclude, deny benefits to, or otherwise discriminate against any person on the grounds of race, color, national origin, age, religion, disability, Limited English Proficiency or sex, including discrimination based on gender identity, sexual orientation, sex stereotyping or pregnancy in admission to, participation in, or receipt of the services and benefits under any of its programs and activities, whether carried out by WTH directly or through a contractor or any other entity with which WTH arranges to carry out its programs and activities.

For further information about this policy, contact Amy Garner (731) 541-9914.